Clock Rewinders #1

It’s time for a new Sunday “meme” on Once Upon A Time and what better way to end the week than to share it with blogging friends? This one will be a little more fun than In My Mailbox, though I won’t be doing away with sharing my weekly hoard completely.

The Past Week at Once Upon A Time
Random Thoughts
  • My readers are awesome. You guys managed to bring me up out of the biggest reading and blogging slump I have had so far with your comments and I love you all to bits. Thanks to you, there will be changes around here.
  • Myself and Naithin are still working on honing this blog into something new and this week we took a look at “de-girling” the place. By that we mean just making it a little more gender neutral and I think what we have now is getting close to being spot on.
  • I got my tax rebate!! Must.. resist.. Amazon..
Around The Blogosphere

Whilst I’m damn awful at keeping up on my reader, once in a while something grabs my eye, and this past week..

  • Technically not this past week, but Pat’s Fantasy Hotlist posted a ‘What to read next…‘ and I really liked it.
  • It has come out this week that somebody has been a little naughty. Here is the original post. This topic has been done to death and yes I’m more than a little tired of the drama but plagiarism is never cool. MY two cents: if you’re against plagiarism, leave her be. Being so blatantly oppositional is just showing how much you care, sending her more traffic and it’s really time to move on.
  • How to Request a Digital Review Copy on Edelweiss. Because I know a few of us were darn confused.
  • It is Amanda’s blogoversary and she’s having a party! Go check out the festivities.
Something Cute and Fluffy

Yeah, what of it? I like cute. You like cute. What’s not to like?

WTFery

Search Terms

I don’t usually check my search terms because more often than not it’s full of unfunny, regular terms but let’s see..

  • book about homeless guy and a catA Street Cat Named Bob!
  • bout of books – Yes, do sign up here!!
  • fucking diet – I know, right?
  • hannah the hippo pygmy – *scowls*
Incoming

I had a fantastic bookish week! So much variety, just wish I could do a vlog. I’m really hoping to get hold of a webcam sometime in the next couple of months.

Books
For Review

I was actually a little surprised to receive The Immortal Rules after getting my author questions in late and the blog tour looming ever closer but it turned up.. right after I’d decided to give up on young adult fiction for the time being. Uh oh. I’m trying to like it, I swear. Though my initial response was, “Perfect for fans of The Hunger Games? It has VAMPIRES! It’s nothing LIKE The Hunger Games!! And it’s a fricking STICKER!! Arg!” Two things that drive me mad.. ha. And Dinner at Mine sounds hilarious, I can’t wait to get started on that one. It’s a kind of Come Dine With Me thing.. go have a look on Goodreads, I suck at explaining.
Gifted

The cat book! Yay! Dan snuck it in from Amazon and I loves it. *pets book* Want to read it nowww.
Charity Shop Finds

I needed a treasure hunt. Haven’t been on one in soo long and all of these were actually from the same charity shop. I felt pretty lucky!
Ebooks

I finally found Great Expectations free for the Kindle and Advent is from NetGalley.

Comments

  1. O_o_o!!! The cat book, he is SOOOOOOOOOO adorable! I just have to read it. Resist Amazon, Hannah, better spend it on holidays :) Enjoy all your reading awesomeness, and I’m going to check out that post about Edelweiss, I’m just as confused about it as the next person :)

  2. *falls over laughing* Hippo pygmy? I’m sorry Hannah, but that is hilarious. *huggles you*

    And yes, you definitely need to get a webcam!

    PS. I’m glad we were able to help you out of your blogging and reading slump. That’s what we’re here for, you know. :)

  3. YES! The Dewey’s Read A Thon was timed so horribly for me (apartment hunting day, ugh) and I was sad I missed it, but a whole week of read a thon will definitely work, I’m so excited and so glad you posted about this since I hadn’t heard about it :D
    -Anya

  4. Hi hannah,i havent been participating but have been enjoying your blogs,wouldnt mine starting my own but dont know how. Do you or anyone know where i can do an online writer workshop. Thankyou

  5. Super glad you are out of your slump and isn’t that awesome that your readers help out. LOVE IT!

    I can’t wait to get my hands on The Immortal Rules.

  6. I agree the drama just needs to end so we can all move forward. I know how I feel about it and people got to see a little of that in my Clock Rewinders post this week but I’m only saying it because I moved from IMM to Clock Rewinders and that was my own personal decision.

    Oh goodness everyone is getting The Immortal Rules! How the heck is that like the Hunger Games though! lol I do hope you enjoy it though.

    Oh good luck with the gender neutral setting for the blog. I know that ever since adding so many people onto my blog I have to be aware of not having headers and stuff that portrays just me on the blog because I have other co-bloggers on there with me ;)

    • It was released in the week so I’m not surprised! My copy was received for the UK blog tour though. And err.. dystopia and struggles for survival I guess? *shrug* I’d rather it be its’ own thing personally.

      It is difficult! Certain things I’m not liking. We’ll work on it.

  7. I prefer your copy of Atonement to mine but yours looks horribly depressing! I hope the book’s not quite that bad. Somehow, Keira Knightley’s face has actually managed to cheer me up – first time for everything! :D

    Dinner At Mine sounds interesting. I’ll keep an eye out for your review or maybe I’ll grab it if I see it in the shop.

  8. Did you look and see if there really is a pygmy hippo named Hannah? I wonder if there is. In fact, hold on:

    http://www.facebook.com/video/video.php?v=10150457143140249

    Yup. There is. Pretty cute. Take it as a compliment, Hannah!

    Maybe it’s a play amputated foot?

    Will you hold my hand while I read The Immortal Rules?

  9. Hannah the hippo pygmy?
    Ha!
    I loved The Immortal Rules but it is very much a Kelly sort of book. I just… *huggles it to death*

    Are you ready to get your write on?

  10. Having people who get you out of reading and blogging slumps is one of the most amazing things about blogging in my opinion! And wow, new look and all? That is cool! I’m constantly working on my WordPress Themes and then never use them, and instead just integrate certain elements in the theme I am using right now. Drives me crazy! *g*

    Hope you’re having a successful week!

    Patricia // My Week in Review

  11. Thanks so much for sharing that link about requesting books from Edelweiss. I’m quite new to the site myself, so I still get lost in there.

    ♥JJ iReads♥ | My Clock Rewinders Post

  12. Thanks for posting about Edelweiss. I hadn’t heard of it before and it seems like a great resource!

  13. Haha you’re a pygmy hippo! I wondered what you were on about on Twitter earlier. My search terms can be utterly random at times, maybe I should stick them on my Monday wrap-up. Yey for Bob the Street Cat and tax rebates! I really love Sarah Waters, though I think I prefered The Night Watch (shares name with 2 fantasy books, I know).

  14. Hey, I like the look of the place.. a little less girly for sure, but still very nice!
    I also like the look of this Clock Rewinders business. What a nice way to look at the past week! It’s tempting to just put everything in a Clock Rewinder on the weekend and drop the “what are you reading” meme to be honest!
    Read the cat book!! <3

    • Thank you! We’re still working on it but like where it’s going.

      And yes! It’s a fun one. I might have to throw in the “what are you reading” thing, thinking about it.

      Ha. I will :D

      • We’re getting there!

        I just need to get a few more socks back up and around the place.

        That’d do it. Cover up some more of those ‘flowery’ thingers. *makes a face*

Speak Your Mind

*

CommentLuv badge